Hard to make choices with DIY subwoofer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting here (I joined just a bout a week ago :D)

Anyways, soon I'm going to start my first DIY subwoofer project. I have never done anything like this so I'm very nervous. My dilemma is that I have to choose from a 12 inch ported subwoofer being powered by 300w rms or a 15 inch sealed subwoofer being powered by 500w rms. The drivers that are in question are the Dayton reference HF (12 and 15 inches). This sub will be used 40% for music and 60% HT. The boxes will be 5.4 cu feet for the sealed and 5.7 cubic feet for the ported. THe f3 of the ported is 19 hz and the f3 of the sealed is 30hz. My living room is where the sub is going to be and it is very large and open. I already have a polk audio psw125 (12 inch ported) and that couldn't fill the room with bass properly. Common sense tells me to use the ported because of the crazy f3 but I'm afraid that my speaker building skills aren't sufficient and I will mess it up. However, I will get the wood panels and such cut by someone else because I don't have the tools or skills. Also, I found this tangband subwoofer:

Tang Band WQ-1858 12" Aluminum Subwoofer 264-897

I calculated a f3 of 17 hz in a 5.89 cu feet box but I don't know if this subwoofer has a good SQ. These calculations are all from the diyaudioandvideo calculators. I just got winISD, however, it is hard to understand what I should do. I will play with it and figure out the software soon enough.

(BTW guys I live in europe so will parts express ship here? And will the BASH amps work with the 230v 50hz electric output we have here? if not can i use a transformer?)

What do you guys think? Hopefully soon I'll get to making sketches on google sketch ;)