diy subwoofer recommendations?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone. I am new to building subs. Could anyone recommend a diy kit for a really nice musical sub that could also hit the lows needed for ht? My price can not go over $1000. I know this is not a lot of money for a really nice sub but if the project goes much over that, I would just rather buy one that comes ready to go. Thanks for your time. It is appreciated.:)

Hi!

I don't know if the chassis is available in the US (and yeah, I also don't like the labelname, since I'm absolutely not into tekkno), but I would recommend the Zebulon Ultra, from one of the two German Speaker-DIY-Magazine.
It is cheap, and despite all expectations on such a 15" design, it is not boomy at all... I just (one hour ago) finished the sub (no paint yet, and some minor details still need work), and it is astonishing how deep, yet accurate it plays.
Take a look at
Example of a Zebulon Ultra

, they show you how it's built (not entirely uncomplicated) and how it looks (and don't underestimate its size, it weighs roughly 60 kg, about 60 * 60 * 46 cm).

I would say that there is no better sub for about 160 $ (chassis + wood + screws + material).

If the chassis is available, I could even send the construction plan.

I was just listening to it playing "Bohren & Der Club Of Gore", a German Jazz combo (having invented what they call "Horror Jazz", and the bass is such an improvement over my last sub (a 12" chassis mounted into a 55 l bassreflex volume)... My old sub was just boomy (and actually this one is more quiet), but this one goes down to the deepest volumes without hesitating.

I drive it with a "The End Millenium" diy amp, which should put out about 250 W RMS into 4 ohms. Maybe I will build something stronger later this year...