Ta2020 for car subwoofer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st October 2011, 04:23 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Ta2020 for car subwoofer

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this field, I'm planning to build a car sub-woofer system using lepai ta2020 amp. This is my idea

2 sub-woofer out from car audio (Kenwood kdcu349) -> Lepai ta2020 amp -> 2 subwoofer (using 4" woofer)

these are my questions regarding this project

1. Is it a good idea to use lepai amp for this project?

2. According to the datasheet , maximum input voltage for ta2020 is 6v, but the accoding to the ebay seller the maximum input sensivity is 200mv. According to the car manual preout is rated at 2v mark. So if i connect this lepai amp to the car stereo , is it going to burn the lepai amp?

Sorry for my bad English. Your help is highly appreciated. Thanks
Old 31st October 2011, 05:13 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

For the money you'd be better off buying an actual car audio amp, you'll get more watts for your subs and in a car power is much needed, it will have inputs robust enogh for your stereo output, a dedicated remote turn on and normally a built in crossover-handy if your stereo doesn't have one.

Also I'd forget 4" subs unless you've found something the rest of the world has missed-I used to run an 8" band pass subwoofer off my Pioneer MEH-P5100 speaker outputs, they would bridge and give me approx 34wrms (IIRC) subwoofer output with adjustable crossover. Sounded pretty darn weak-the extra wind/road noise you have to overcome in a moving car was more than the HU can produce in the bass ranges, even when used witha high efficiencey band-pass enclosure.