Driver Selection With WinISD Data... PLEASE Help A Complete Newb!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd October 2011, 10:04 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Driver Selection With WinISD Data... PLEASE Help A Complete Newb!!

good day,

i am attempting to design bass modules - i hesitate to call them subwoofers, as i'm not looking for REALLY low extension - to extend the range of my monitor speakers in my 2 channel audio system. the cabinets will be sealed and need to be pretty compact, a close estimate on volume is around 17 L (~1000 ft3). i'm hoping for strong output from around 35 hz - 80 hz, and based on my reading, a Qtc not in excess of 0.65 (which i'm finding difficult given the cabinet size, even if i factor in polyfill).

i've entered the data for around 40 drivers in the 8" - 10" range into WinISD and have been analyzing the results to determine the best options. there are some speakers like the ScanSpeak 23W/4557T that have extraordinary output (-3db at 35 hz in a 17 L sealed box), however, the Qtc is 0.89, which i've read will be boomy sounding (great for theater, less ideal for music). Then there are drivers like the Acoustic Elegance TD10M which yield a system Q of 0.51, however, have rather limited extension (-18 db at 35 hz).

the way i'm evaluating suitability of drivers is to find one that offers reasonable extension and a low Qtc value. using the WinISD program, i'm recording the Qtc value at 17 L and 22 L (22 accounts for polyfill) and the -3db, -6db, and -10db frequencies, as well as the output at 35 hz.

is this a reasonable approach?

are there other variables i should be looking into, too?

what targets should i be shooting for where the Qtc, -3db, -6db, -10db, and 35 hz results are concerned?