DIY to rival a Submersive HP? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd September 2011, 12:41 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default DIY to rival a Submersive HP?

I am new to the HT DIY world but have done a few car setups over the years. Looking to build or buy a sub, not sure which road I want to head down. The DIY fun factor is a draw, but I am probably trying to building something with output and SQ on the lines (from the reviews I've read) of a Submersive HP. I was thinking a compound sealed PPSL setup with 2 TC Sounds LMS-R 15's. In a proper box, are these things going to be musical as well? I have a pretty flexible budget. I doubt I could achieve anywhere near the finish of the Submersive, maybe I could get close on the performance. Or am I better off to get ahold of Mark?
Old 22nd September 2011, 11:55 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

A little more info, I have a dedicated 20A circuit to use for the amp, probably trying to keep the footprint on the dual 15" side so that I can fit it behind my screen in the corner. The room is about 4000 ft^3, so won't be much room gain. Use will be 50/50 music/HT...
Old 26th September 2011, 01:40 AM   #3
taloyd is offline taloyd  United States
diyAudio Member

Default AE Speakers

I would also check out Acoustic Elegance (AE Speakers). The AV series drivers are definitely at the same level as the LMS-R series, and the AV-H series model well in a very reasonably sized box. PPSL will drastically reduce the distortion which is already low.

cheers,
-Tal
Old 26th September 2011, 10:29 PM   #4
doug20 is offline doug20  United States
diyAudio Member

Is your budget as high as the cost of the Submersive?