Monacor SPH-450TC Thoughts? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th September 2011, 01:23 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Monacor SPH-450TC Thoughts?

Hi,

I have been formulating plans for some new additions to my system for a couple of months and was wondering if anyone has had many encounters with the SPH-450TC, or has any thoughts on it?

I'm looking for something that will really pump out those lows, and am leaning towards this driver since the specs to me look pretty darn good, plus I can easily get one off SoundLabs.

http://www.soundlabsgroup.com.au/p/M-103270-SPH450TC/18%22+SPH-450TC+2+x+4+Ohm

Plans at the moment (from playing in WinISD) would be to go a 130L box, 4 ports, tuned to ~33 HZ.

However I am only new to this game and would really appreciate some guruís opinions!

The alternative (based on all the good reviews I have read) is a PD1850? Slightly cheaper, although it may be hard to get my hands on one in Australia?

Feel free to suggest some good alternatives, there are that many out there I really find it hard to even begin searching....

Budget wise I'm not too fussed, happy to spend ~$1500 all up including an amp!

Any suggestions/feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Felix

Old 6th September 2011, 02:17 AM   #2
Djim is offline Djim  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Hi Felix,