Isobaric 8 subs - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st August 2011, 09:47 AM   #1
ODougbo is offline ODougbo  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Isobaric 8 subs

I’ve been building HT subs for many years and this is my favorite design. [/FONT][/COLOR]These subs have super low bass and out perform many store bought boxes.

Two long throw 8” woofers ($30 each) mounted isobaric, using small tunnel. Tunnels sound complicated, but they are pretty easy, simply use square blocks of wood with the same size hole as the woofer, laminated (glue) as needed. In this box I found that a 5” total inside depth works well. [/FONT][/COLOR]Also note; I used 1” thick wood, so bracing not needed.

The speakers are 4ohm, so ran them in series and bridged a 200 watt amp mono to drive them, an option is to run them 4ohm stereo.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Front.JPG (704.8 KB, 631 views)
File Type: jpg Inside II.JPG (551.2 KB, 596 views)
Old 31st August 2011, 01:04 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I was reading a book (the old "The Secrets of Car Audio") the other day that suggested an isobaric design.

It clearly stated that an isobaric alignment will have lower resonance because the air space between the woofers will act as a buffer of sorts.

What size is the box, port length and how much air do you have in the air space between the woofers?
Old 31st August 2011, 01:39 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Tunnel

The tunnel is 5” deep inside, with 7” hole cut in the lamented pieces. I did seal the tunnel with rubber spray. I will provide the measurements ASAP. Woofers: MCM Part #: 55-2421

I did make other versions with face to face designs, I think they have a little more output and easier to build, but not much to look at.

Btw, Isobaric has been around a long time, mid 1950s