Will this sub sound good?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear All,

I am trying to design a DIY Subwoofer for my HT. I have got a Brazilian subwoofer called Bravox Endurance DVC , 15 inches, its T/S parameters are as follows:

Impedance : (x2) 6,0 (ohms ± 10%)
Sens. : 89 (± 2dB/m/2,83v)
Fs : 20 (Hz ± 15 %)
Pot. máx : 700 Wmax
Qts : 0,29
Qms : 4,46
Qes : 0,31
Vas : 270 liters
X máx. : 10,1 mm
Re : 2,68 Ohms
Sd : 881 sq.cm 15"

Using WinISD and SubSim, I came up with a 116L box with a port tuned to 25.6Hz. Will it be boomy?

I am planing to build it with 15mm MDF (double walls), according to the attached sketch, do you guys have any comments? I am a newbie ;) , and this is my first DIY.

Fabiano

Attachments

• sub.jpg
    sub.jpg
    13.3 KB · Views: 387

GM

Joined 2003
With a +/-15% Fs spec, any sim is going to be a 'crapshoot', but based on the specs, ~135L net/20Hz with 15.24cm diameter vent looks to be a good tradeoff between BW, power handling, and acceptable vent length/mach.

WRT sub cab design/material, the object is to get it stiff enough to raise its resonance to above the passband, so a well braced 11 or 13 ply 19mm Baltic Birch is the better performer even though the 30mm MDF walls probably have ~the same MOE (stiffness factor) due to its much lower resonance.

HTH,

GM

Opa! Ae Fabiano um conterrâneo :D Bem vindo ao forum, olha só acho que essa caixa com esse volume você não vai poder aplicar muita potência no sub.. toma cuidado com a excurssão..

Translation:
Hello Fabiano.. Welcome to the board, look IMO I think that enclosure with that huge volume you won't be able to apply much power to the driver.. be carefull with cone excurssion

Cya!

GM

Joined 2003
Hey Arthur,