Wayne's 12Pi sub

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
anyone build one? i've seen all the information on it and he sent me the plans yesterday. i am considering, but the box is huge. seems moving them wouldn't be too bad with the grab handle and wheels. the band i play will be doing some outdoor shows this summer, but i think i could use these inside also. anyone hear this cabinet in person? however not much bigger then the dual 18 manifold i was trying to design. i am an engineer at a wood working company so building them wouldn't be an issue. i have access to cnc machining.

yeah it is similar. i have plans for the labsub also, but actually it is a little more intense to build due to some compound miter cuts. thought i would look at other forums on opinions. seems on the prosound forums everyone is biased towards the labhorn as with Bill Fitzmaurice's designs on his forum. i have been wanting to build some push-pull dual 18 cabinets, but i forgot about Wayne's 12Pi and how they used the push-pull concept also. the box is big, but would only be deeper compared to a dual 18 cabinet.

Setting aside the non-linearity cancellation of push pull in the 12 Pi , it'd be nice (from a prosound perspective, high voltage / low frequency) to have a version with both lab12 magnets in the throat
chamber for even voice coil cooling. Though it might detract from the already small 21 L? sealed
boxes in these enclosures. What do you think?

Last edited: