Woofer "Speed," high Xmax vs. low Xmax in Uframe and Sealed Enclosures - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st February 2011, 07:06 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Talking Woofer "Speed," high Xmax vs. low Xmax in Uframe and Sealed Enclosures

First of all I'd like to introduce myself to the board. I'm a long time lurker, and have enjoyed the wealth of information and discussions on the board. I'm a pro audio guy by trade, and a long time audiophile. There is sometimes some cross pollination between my work and hobby observations....

One of them is this whole notion of woofer "speed." Some will dismiss this term, but most I would say have experienced the phenomenon in one way or another. To my ear there is a huge difference in the perceived speed of lighter, low Xmax, pro audio woofers as opposed to the newish generation of high Xmax "subwoofer" drivers.

I've been running Magnepan 1.6's with Bag End ELF Subs for some time at home and have been quite happy with the setup. The Bag Ends use lightweight cone pro audio drivers, and walk all over the "slow and sloppy" sounding Dayton Titanic 15" Sub Kit(3cu ft sealed)I was using in terms of sound quality, if not output. The Bag Ends are a great compliment to the Maggies, but I've been curious about dipole/cardiod subs.

After perusing the board for some time, I decided to give it a go. I took a jigsaw out, and literally cut the back of the Titanic enclosure out. Now I have a U-frame.

Anyway, after some Spectrafoo analysis, and DSP tweaking, there is no doubt that I have better transient response, pitch definition, etc, than the Titanic in the sealed box--BUT--it still has a subtle quality of being "behind" the Maggies. The Bag Ends do not.