Noob with general sub-building questions...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'll start off by saying I'm a huge noob. I've never built a speaker before and I want to learn how. My goal is to build an enclosure for a Dayton SD315-88 12" subwoofer that I recently purchased. I purchased this sub solely as a cheap sub for my first DIY project. However, when all is said and done, I would really like to be able to connect it to my Onkyo reciever to use alongside two existing BIC speakers in a 2.1 PC stereo setup for music/gaming. The way I want to power the sub is with a Behringer EP2500 that I have. There are two general questions that I have.

1) I realize that the EP2500 is far more powerful than what I need, will I still be able to use it and set it to only deliver the necessary wattage to my sub somehow or am I going to need to purchase some kind of plate amplifier or similar component specifically for this sub?

2) I've tinkered around with several different enclosure building applications and I understand the process of entering all the TS specs for the sub, etc, but I think there are some very basic concepts that I'm just not grasping. I don't understand how to tell what kind of frequency (how many Hz) I need to try to "tune" the enclosure to. I realize adjusting the enclosure specs changes this number, I just don't know what I'm supposed to be aiming for.

3) I really am confused by and don't understand crossovers. If I'm going to have an external amplifier power the sub (EP2500), do I still need a crossover? Is the function of the crossover even related to the amplifier at all or does it have an entirely different purpose? I've seen several different options of crossovers I can add to my enclosure project within these applications, how do I know what kind I need or would be best?