diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Subwoofers (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/subwoofers/)
-   -   Build Guitar Bass cabinet (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/subwoofers/181719-build-guitar-bass-cabinet.html)

BuildByHands 24th January 2011 01:32 AM

Build Guitar Bass cabinet

Hello,

I'm a real newbie at this site. I've been surfing around on forums to learn as much as I can to build a (Guitar) bass cabinet. The more I read the more I get confused.

Any way, I am planing to build it. And I would like to ask the people with experiences to give me guidance. Here are my thougth:

1) I would use 3/4" thick Plywood
2) I will use (speaker) LEGEND CB15 - 8 Ohms, 300 Watts
this LEGEND CB15 requires only 2 cubic foots closed box.

Questions:

1) Could you provide me (closest) measurement of the cut-wood to build 2 cubic foots.
2) Do I have to make cross over within this box? (I don't even know that the cross over is).
3) what I need to included the cross-over in the box?

Thawach 25th January 2011 01:57 AM

hi
select the Dimensions on box wizard that u want. and adjust until Internal Vb is 2 cuf

Rockford Fosgate® - Woofer BoxWizard

the details of bass guitar,u can read from this link.

Speaker cabinets

regard/:)

fingerboy21 25th January 2011 02:40 AM

For bass guitar you do not need a crossover unless the driver specifies. A crossover is a circuit that splits up the frequencies and sends them to different types of speakers in simple terms. There are many free calculators online that will be able to calculate the box for you.

Mordor 9th February 2011 01:47 PM

Hi, i played electric bass for 8 years.
The cabinet is the 80 % of sound that you want.
Generally bass cabnet work in bass reflex, and have or a single 15" or more 8 - 10 " driver.
I have a 15" rcf pro ( 800 w rms ) in a marine plywood cabinet ( bass reflex ) + a double piezoelectric tweeter. It Sound cold, deep and metallic, not for jazz or warm style.