Subwoofer enclosure in steel?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to the the DIY Hifi stuff , so this is my first attempt and I thought a Sub would be a good start. The choice of steel is a style decision, The decor in my house is industrial and the sub should compliment that

I like curves and I have access to a lot of pressure vessels and light pipe bends which got me thinking about making a sub enclosure in steel. Most of the steel I see is 4 to 6mm wall with plenty of compound curves which I think should stiffen the enclosure. I am not sure about resonances other than that the transverse modes can be quite low frequency but they require asymmetric loads to excite them in a pressure vessel, pressure loads should be symmetric where the wavelength is many times the enclosure size. Constrained layer damping just in case ? I will use fill as this is to be a sealed enclosure operated below resonance.

The driver I am looking at is a PA driver 15" 98 db/w good for 500W RMS with an xmax of +/- 11mm Vas around 170l The intended use is home hifi to get 32 hz organ pipes and the thud of large Asian drums. Asian drumming is often fast paced and off beat I am thinking about crossing over at 55 hz I have about 300W RMS to play with.

Has anybody made a steel enclosure? Thoughts about using high sensitivity PA drivers? Good speaker design books? Should I use an 18" driver instead or maybe two 15" drivers.

since your goal is purely asthetical and will be a first attempt why not just follow a conventional
and tested design out of wood/mdf then use the steel just to plate it. a metal veneer if you will..
That way you will have something that works well and looks like it has been entirely made out of steel.