Need help with small passive sub for motorcoach theater system - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th July 2010, 02:26 AM   #1
rotts4u is offline rotts4u  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Need help with small passive sub for motorcoach theater system

I am a journalist working on a magazine article where I install a 5.1 home theater system in a diesel motorcoach. Since space is limited and wiring nearly impossible to pull, I am forced to live with the existing wires and space. The coach came originally with a cheap home theater in a box deal and it had a small passive Panasonic sub in a storage cabinet.

I have already upgraded all the other speakers, Blueray DVD, TV 40" LED LCD and a Samsung reveiver. Now I have a Samsung 5.1 AV receiver because it was one of the only ones I could find with a sub speaker level output. I am NOT able to run any type of preamp RCA wire to the sub location so I am forced to only use a passive sub and of course it has to fit. The current sub is about 8" wide and 13" tall and 15" wide. It has to go through a cabinet door so I need to stay really close to these dimensions.

So can someone help me design a DIY passive sub using an 8"' driver of the size above that will operate on 100 watts which is all the receiver puts out. The receiver has adjustable crossover and the front and surround speakers are Polk M10s is that matters. They claim -3db at 65hz if that matters and a 89db sensitivity. I will build and finish the box myself because it is hidden in a cabinet anyway so looks are not too critical.

Thanks in advance for your help

Don
Old 14th July 2010, 03:48 AM   #2
woof is offline woof  United States
diyAudio Member

This is an excellent small footprint design.
Cerberus
Old 19th July 2010, 03:01 AM   #3
diyAudio Member