10" 15hz Tapped Horn

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Looking to do build something that splits the difference between the Danley DTS-10 that everyone loves and it's little brother the TH-SPUD. Looking for more extension rather than absolute SPL and a form factor that is similar to the Danleys.

Been playing with HORNRESP and have come up with a design that I'd like to get some input on.

Searched through a bunch of 10" drivers...found this one that seems like a good fit with the enclosure. The driver is the PIONEER TS-W258D2 from Parts Express. I modeled quite a few other 10" drivers and quite a number "seem" to do well with the same enclosure.

moz-screenshot.png
moz-screenshot-1.png
moz-screenshot-2.png

Here is the input screen from HORNRESP:

ss_001.jpg

The output screen:
ss_002.jpg

Recommendations//Comments//Feedback??? I am pretty new to HORNRESP and want an extra set of eyes on the design. I am planning to build two of these and stuff them behind by cabinet/screen.

GM

Joined 2003
You're welcome!

Yeah, I didn't reverse engineer it to find a closer Sd, but I used Pioneer's specs with Prof. Leach's math to get the design, so the results are 'close enough' even when I plug in your Sd, etc.. Who knows what either alignment looks like with measured specs though............

FWIW, mine doubled up. If nothing else, it's smaller, though of course won't play as loud down low since its net Vb sets its max SPL capability. Of more importance IME is that it has enough dynamic headroom above ~30 Hz up against a wall to EQ flat in-room and still meet DD/DTS/THX reference with low/no audible compression if the amp is powerful enough:

GM

Attachments

• Pioneer TS-W258D2 15 Hz DTS concept - dual parallel.gif
    Pioneer TS-W258D2 15 Hz DTS concept - dual parallel.gif
    15 KB · Views: 127
Last edited:
You're welcome!