Structural goals for subwoofer enclosure - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th March 2010, 10:00 PM   #1
zrino8 is offline zrino8  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Structural goals for subwoofer enclosure

I am starting the planning phase for two separate 12-18” subwoofers and I am a bit confused as to what the structural goals are for the enclosure. I am a bit of a novice when it comes to audio design but I am a civil engineer (still an EIT) so I can figure out the design of the structure but I am not sure what my goals should be for the enclosure should be.
1. I have heard a lot of emphasis on stiffness; I assume that movement in the structure would cause distortion; I am assuming that this is one of the primary goals.
2. The term “Deadening” is still a bit confusing, I have a loose idea of the definition, but this seems to be in a bit of a conflict with the stiffness of the enclosure, can anyone provide a good definition for the term?
3. I have seen a lot of designs that have cross bracing on the center interior of the enclosure, suspended cross bracing has obvious structural advantages but does this have any negative impacts on the acoustic design of the enclosure?
4. After reading several posts on the shape, I still don’t know how important this would be, does anyone have an input on the importance of the shape.
5. I haven’t been able to find much about the importance of the interior texture or elasticity, does this have an impact on the output of the system?
Let me know if you have anything to add about the integrity of a subwoofer enclosure. I am open to the idea of using most materials (softwood, hardwood, steel or concrete). Also if anyone has input on good drivers to use that would also be helpful.
Thanks.
Old 25th March 2010, 10:23 PM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)