manifold subwoofer or labhorn? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd February 2010, 02:13 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default manifold subwoofer or labhorn?

Hello Audio fanatics,

I'm new to this very interresting and educating forum, I've read some articles 'bout sobwoofer construction, and already made an entire PA system based on eminece speakers.

Now we (a party maker colective) going on tour, and we need some compact and high spl PA for about 500 persons gigs, we do mostly electronic sound techno, trance, and harder styles....

I was thinking about some manifold design like EV MT-4, but after reading a few posts, im not shure if it would be better to make some labhorns?

The point i've watchted out for those mt-4 like enclosure plans is to get maximum spl out of minimum size, but now i understand that some labhorns could get the same performance with less speakers, what obviusly would consist in less amplifiers? Also budget plays a role!!!!

So if labhorns are better, what kind of tops should I choose for them?

Have anybody some plans for some manifold enclosure for 4 15" speakers ( in the best case with plans for tuned tops (similar like EV MT-4 style)?
Or any tips where te get some?

Or what would be the adecuate manner to calculate them (MT-4 style)?

As you can see I'm actally a bit lost about it, and would apreciate every help and info i can get.
Thanks in advantage, and lets shake it!!!
Old 22nd February 2010, 03:26 AM   #2
diyAudio Member