Matching crown XTI with subs?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to home audio and need some quick advice to get me started from you veterans please.

I am using two 12 or 15s and building 2 sub enclosures for my home theater room, which is also our family room. The best place for interior design is under the TV, but there is room on either side in the corners (not ideal). I want this to have great SQ but also have the bottom end to rattle the shingles off the roof. I can always turn it down...

I need an amp and some speakers, I listed some below that I can afford in my $1500 sub budget.

My equipment ideas:
Crown XTI 1000 or 2000
McCauley 6244 15"
or Acoustic Elegance 15"
or JL Audio 12w7

or budget ideas:
Buttkicker 1500w class D
Dayton 1000w plate
Mackie 2500
Two on-hand 10 year old Cerwin Vega 15" out of CV stock cabinets

My questions are:

What OHMs are best for subs?
Are these pair matched OK?
Is a slot port box OK for 5cu ft boxes in this design?
Parallel or Series?
Mono or Stereo?
One enclosure or two
Active or passive crossover?

I have 4 Jamo for surround, DIY center made from Advent Reference Series, listen to rap, electronic, country, symphony, and LOVE watching scifi and action flicks with my wife and kids LOUD.

Thanks so much for any advice!!

Hi and welcome to DIYaudio. You'll find a wealth of info if you search through the threads.

To throw a few answers at the more basic questions you asked:

Ohms is a matter for you amplifier. An amplifier designed for 4ohms or less needs to source a lot of current and so will have lots of paralleled output devices and will probably weight a lot (big iron). Even class D amps have to be specifically designed for low impedance. If you don't know what your amp is capable of, it's best to go for 8ohm or higher. Even an 8ohm driver can dip below 5ohms at some frequencies.

Parallel/series: IMHO doesn't matter