H-frame woofer ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I plan to make two H-frame dipole woofer for music listening.
On my plan there are four Peerless 830669 drivers in both dipoles, total 8.
Crossover frequency is somewhere 80-100Hz and I use active crossover filter.
Height of H-frame will be 1,5 m (60 inch) and total width will be 34cm (13,3 inch) and deep of H-frame will be 40 cm (15,7 inch). Does anybody have experience of this kind of dipole? Do you think that it’s ok if I put drivers one on top of other, without any extra spaces?
Is that size ok? I don’t have room to make very wide H-frame (max width maybe 50-60cm (20-23 inch) but I have room to make deeper and higher. How deep is optimal in my case? I already thank you for answer!

Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
Im no expert
Actually I have never built a "sub"

Drawing shows a bit about how I think I would build what you suggest
I dont know if there really should be baffles between each woofer, but I would consider it
Somehow I reckon it would result in better more equal loading of woofers
And I have shown them with curves cut out in each

Attachments

• OB H-sub 4stk 12.JPG
    OB H-sub 4stk 12.JPG
    30.9 KB · Views: 690
Do you think that it’s ok if I put drivers one on top of other, without any extra spaces?
It is perfectly OK to stack them. Don't try to isolate one from the other. Make them one rigid column. Since all drivers move in the same direction, you need to look for the resulting momentum. Don't try to isolate that column from the floor either. Give it a firm contact to the floor. And put as much weight on top as you can afford. Some 33x33 cm tiles or a terrace slab will come in nicely. This will most effectively keep the column from rocking.