How much better can i make this TH

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm totally new to THs. i have done a lot of reading here and on other forums and finally decided to make one so i could hear what they sound like. i took Patrick Bateman's double driver idea and crossed it with FlipC's mini clone design. i did not do any modeling and sort of made it up as i went along. here is what i came up with. i'm using the MCM 55-2421.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

here are the cut measurements of my wood:

20.75" x 9.5"
16.5" x 9.5"
14" x 9.5"
12.5" x 9.5" - 15 degree angle on one end
10" x 9.5"
24" x 9.5"
24" x 9.5"
23" x 9.5"
24" x 24"
24" x 24"

it sounds pretty good but could it sound better? or am i way off here? i think the throat is 12.5"

i'm using a QSC PLX 2404 to drive it. how hard can i drive these? i'm using the sub out of a Behringer FBQ1502 set at 75hz. is this right or can i set it at 100hz?

my plan is to make 4 of these for use in a PA system.

Thanks,

bob

is your response pretty flat? or do you have notes that stick out really loud?

From my guesstimates on your TH from pictures, if you would have started at 1" of space at the start of the horn, instead of 0", and then follow the flare around, you should have a nice even response. Horn resp says you should get 120db at 40v, drivers in series. 40v is as far as I would push them.

Im curious about phase response.
Since the drivers are offset and 1 isn't inverted.

Also be a bit more descriptive in "how it sounds".
Suggest simple tone test. Hook up a laptop and use it to generate specific frequencies. Start at 20 Hz and go up by 5 Hz each time. Make notes about perceived loudness. If you have ability to measure SPL well then this is mute. Do that.