How much better can i make this TH - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th November 2009, 08:58 PM   #1
bko69 is offline bko69  United States
diyAudio Member

Default How much better can i make this TH

I'm totally new to THs. i have done a lot of reading here and on other forums and finally decided to make one so i could hear what they sound like. i took Patrick Bateman's double driver idea and crossed it with FlipC's mini clone design. i did not do any modeling and sort of made it up as i went along. here is what i came up with. i'm using the MCM 55-2421.

Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.

here are the cut measurements of my wood:

20.75" x 9.5"
16.5" x 9.5"
14" x 9.5"
12.5" x 9.5" - 15 degree angle on one end
10" x 9.5"
24" x 9.5"
24" x 9.5"
23" x 9.5"
24" x 24"
24" x 24"

it sounds pretty good but could it sound better? or am i way off here? i think the throat is 12.5"

i'm using a QSC PLX 2404 to drive it. how hard can i drive these? i'm using the sub out of a Behringer FBQ1502 set at 75hz. is this right or can i set it at 100hz?

my plan is to make 4 of these for use in a PA system.

Thanks,

bob
Old 9th November 2009, 10:12 PM   #2
jbell is offline jbell  United States
diyAudio Member

is your response pretty flat? or do you have notes that stick out really loud?

From my guesstimates on your TH from pictures, if you would have started at 1" of space at the start of the horn, instead of 0", and then follow the flare around, you should have a nice even response. Horn resp says you should get 120db at 40v, drivers in series. 40v is as far as I would push them.
Old 10th November 2009, 02:29 AM   #3
FlipC is offline FlipC  United States
diyAudio Member

Im curious about phase response.
Since the drivers are offset and 1 isn't inverted.