New to forum and need help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here so first off let me say "hey whats up?" This is a cool forum you have here.

so......a little Background info......

I play in a 3 piece cover band (bass,drum, guitar/vocal). Typical small bar gig....usually 50 people maybe a few more at times. Some day hope to make it to 100.:D

anyway....the bands PA is a little 8 channel powered mixer that is 2x500@4 ohm. We have a pair of yamaha S115v on sticks and a QSC GX5(which has a built in xover @ 100hz) that is 2x500@8ohm or 2x700 @4ohm. And we also have an old MTX 215 pro cab(1) that we have been using as a sub.

We typically wire it as main mono out of mixer to gx5 - w/xcrosser engaged on channel 1 to mtx (that would be 500watts @8ohm to so called sub)

channel 2 goes to yammies in parallel @ 4 ohm.

We hook up monitors to the outputs of the powered mixer.

I want to add a pair of peavey SP118 subs but currently out of the budget so I came across the web site speakerplans.com which looks promising and I also seen on youtube the sonotube sub.

Which would you recommend for something DYI? Sonotube to me seems more like home theater....probably need something a little more road worthy.

Hard to say what my budget is, but guessing around 500

Any comments/recommendations greatly appreciated

I'd say first you'll need to download winISD Pro, which will model the bass response of any speaker that you care to put in. However, you will need a set of numbers called the Theile-Small parameters, which, when you put in winISD, you can model your driver of choice.

Here's an idea - when you're modelling boxes, try adding a bump at 40Hz - this emphasises the bass drum a little and generally goes down well in most venues.

Chris