Meniscus 1284 Excursion limit confusion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I am new to this whole DIY subwoofer thing but I have read a lot and am have the components to build my first box. I know my driver is optimized for a sealed box but I am building two boxes for a carpeted concrete basement theater area that is 15'x15'x8.5' opening in to a 20x15 rec room. Basically these subs will be used mainly for HT with a little music, so I am considering building a sealed and sending the front L/R signal through it, and then building a ported sub for the LFE sub preout on my amp so i can get some low 20Hz thump.

2x Daytion SA240, 2x Meniscus 1284 (supposudly same driver as ACI SV12)

can't find meniscus T/S params, so basing these on SV12:
Meniscus 1284
Fs 17.50 Hz
Re 2.98 Ohm
Qms 8.35
Qes 0.41
Sd 466.0 cm2
Vas 250.0 l
Xmax peak 12.70 mm
(Le) 1.45 mH
(Le2) 0.00 mH
(Re2) 0.00 Ohm
Nominal Power 150.0 W
Pe 500 W

I constructed these excursion graphs in unibox and it appears to exceed the xmax limit at about 30ish Hz sealed or ported at only 150W. I am confused about this because its supposed to have a 500W max and an Fs of 17.5 and I am using the optimal box sizes along with the unibox's option to optimize Vb for wanted Qtc. I don't know if i am using Unibox Correctly or even have the correct driver params so I guess that could be the problem. I attached the graphs. Anyone know what I am doing wrong? Or am I asking too much of these drivers.

Attachments

• excursionmeniscus1284.gif
    excursionmeniscus1284.gif
    72.2 KB · Views: 192
What box volumes are you using?

For vented, try pushing up the tuning freq to 20 or 25 Hz - it is a trade-off. Check the amplitude response and reduce the box volume if there is peaking at the higher tuning freq. Then check displacement limited output.