The Ultimate Remote Control Audio Project.. Please Help :)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I'm new to this, but not to Remote Control in general.

To keep the story short, I'm interested in building a scale Warbird of around 100"+ wingspan.

In the old days, Gas was the only option, but with the advent of more powerful electric system, electric flight is the way to go these days IMHO. On top of that, there are folks making sound modules to fully replicate the actual warbird engines, so that we're not stuck with a weed wacker for engine sound.

http://www.aerosoundrc.com/

A great implementation of that design can be seen in this YouTube video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdsu4H7nqXQ&feature=related

The explanation of the system is here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0V_nS-iuWlA

The problem with the system as I see it is that it is TOO WEAK. While it sounds great on the ground, the sound nearly disappears in the sky. In the video, he's using 2 x 4-5" drivers with about 100 watts max output.

So I figure to get enough grunt, I'd probably need somewhere in the neighborhood of 500-1000 watts (or more maybe??) of power. When this aircraft takes to the sky, I want everyone around it to know that there is a plane in the sky. Maybe some spectators will even mistaken it for the real deal :D.

Design Parameter:
I'm planning on building a P-47 just like the video, but much bigger. It will be able to accomodate AT LEAST an 8" SUBWOOFER... maybe even 10" if you really twist my arm :D.

The whole components must be kept really light because they do have to fly after all, and too heavy of a component can kill the flight characteristics.

I can easily supply the amount of wattage and amperage from my lipo (lithium polymer) batteries. Just tell me the watts and amps, and I can come up with whatever combination you guys ask me to.