Genius sub designer sought! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th December 2008, 04:59 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Genius sub designer sought!

Hello all, this seems like a great forum.

I have been into hi-fi for a long time. Having gone through many systems, in both my car and home. I have always been into accurate full range systems. I am now looking into DIY for my home hifi for the first time.

I am very good at wood working but am a total newbie when it come to designing solutions. I intend to read up on the subject over time, but for now I'd appreciate some help with the design. Before I have simply made enclosures using the recommended specs supplied with drivers. I have made dozens of enclosures, using both MDF and birch ply with internal matrix bracing. Typically I have gone sealed, but the most natural enclosure I ever owned was my pair of PMC speakers (transmission lines).

So anyway, I wish to construct an enclosure over the winter weeks ahead. These are my parameters...

1. Location - bedroom system, measures 14' x 12', sub to sit in one cormer.
2. Music - various electronica soundscapes with ultra low notes, to hendrix, paramore, nirvana. Will be used for films too.
3. Volume - Low levels in the evening
4. I want ultra low extension (My PMC had some info at 10Hz with a test disc)
5. Notes must be crisp - I hate blurred bass notes. So a 'one note' ported sound might not be my cup of tea. Musicality is key.
6. Ideally it would be around 4cuft, butup to 6cuft might be ok too.
7. I have a cone fetish! I'd love a 15" or 18" if possible, but am open to suggestions. For example, some of you might say a small 12 in a TL enclosure might be better than an 18 sealed?
8. Finally I need to get this gear in the UK, or at least posted to the UK.