Furniture doubling up as Subwoofer?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I am a newbie in DIY. Actually I mean a newbie who is still at the thought level than actually doing something. I am currently reading before asking specific questions on speaker params etc.
Has anyone thought about (and maybe rejected) putting subwoofer into large furniture like couch, sofa, shoe rack, a storage cabinet, av rack etc? Volume of air available
Two issues I can see upfront

- rattling
- air inside the furniture like shoe rack would not be sealed perfectly.

If I want to put downfiring sub inside my 3 seater sofa, how much above the ground should it be at least? Thoughts on downfiring active driver with a downfiring passive radiator?

regards

The chances of getting a high quality speaker when modifying a piece of furniture to form a dual function system will be a challenge and is likely to be a less than optimum speaker. If you want to get bass while sitting on your couch have you looked into installing tactile transducers underneath on the wooden frame rails? These create powerful vibrations in whatever they are screwed or bolted to. Basically a motor from a large woofer with no cone. Look up Aura bass shakers as one product available. Parts Express in the USA sells them.

These are an interesting addition to a home theater setup since much of the low frequency energy and rumble in explosions and other sound effects should be felt while the normal speaker system allows the higher harmonic content to be heard.

GM

Joined 2003
Not necessarily, just like with any cab alignment you choose the driver to suit, so for a sofa or similar highly damped/lossy cab a low Fs, high Qts OB/IB driver can be made to work well with a bit of EQ.