New to Forum - 1st Post - What to do with boxes, 2 twelve inch drivers, and 800w amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All. This is my first post here, so I wanted to thank everyone first for all the info on this forum. I am very new to this so please forgive some of my lack of knowledge.

Here's my situation/setup:
1800 cubic foot room - 15x15x8 with one of the 15' walls open
Two sealed boxes each 4.76 cubic feet - They are built and I have to use one or both of these
pro amp (400w x 2 at 4 ohms)
2 twelve" subs (dual 8 ohm driver)

I was going to go with 2 separate boxes until I read about dual opposing subs in one box and the benefit of such a setup. Here are my questions:

1. What do you guys think is the better setup in my situation? Two singles or one dual opposing? I am afraid that each of my boxes might be a bit big for 1 twelve ", but i am also afraid that 1 of my boxes is too small for 2 12"'s.

2. If dual opposing is the way to go, how close should the drivers be to each other. Anything else I should be careful of when using a dual opposing setup?

Below are the specs for the subs I have in case someone wants to do me a huge favor and run some numbers. Due to my lack of knowledge, I do not know how to run numbers on the dual opposing box.

Subwoofer Driver Specs
Re: DC resistance of VC 3.60 Ohms
Le: Inductance of VC 0.90mH
Fs: Resonance frequency 19.6 Hz
Qms: Mechanical compliance loss 2.60
Qes: Electrical motor loss. .46
Qts: Total Q of driver .39
Mms: Moving mass 140g
Cms: Suspension Compliance 0.47 mm/N
Vas: Stiffness of driver scaled by cone size 169L
Sd: Area of the cone 506 cm^2
Vd: Total Diaphragm Displacement volume 2.65L
BL: Motor Strength 11.66
X-Max: One-way linear excursion 27mm
Pmax: Maximum power (music, not RMS) 600W
SPL: 86.3 dB 1W/1M 89.1 dB at 2.83 Vrms
Volume Occupied by Driver .15 cubic feet or 4.25L

Thanks for any help.