Soundproof Listening Room

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
According to Gedde's home theater book there's supposed to be a "channel" in a sound proof wall. I don't understand what the channel is there for. Has anyone figured this out?

I know a thing or two about horns, but I'm new to soundproof rooms.

I understand the concept of having two isolated walls, with staggered studs so that the two walls don't actually touch. But what's the channel there for?

The studs are attached to the wall right?

home theater book i just read

Not really sure what the "channel" would be. My guess that it is just the space between the two stud walls.