More bass

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I have been using a pair of Castle Harlechs for several years bi-amped, and I have enjoyed them. What I have done is kidded myself that the bass they give me is what I need - it doesn't!

Freeing myself from the clutches of insanity I now need to invest in a Subwoofer. I am not sure that one off the shelf would do I may be wrong. My listening is music not films (I think that makes a difference?). Room size about 21ft x 11ft. I can spend around 800USD

What would you recommend? Ideas would be gratefully received.

Regards

Brownlow

I am really happy with my Dayton RS hifi 12" subs; I have two four ohm versions which are wired in series and driven with 250 watts. They will play plenty loud. I like it loud.

If I had that budget, I would buy four of those. Then put a pair of them in two four cubic foot sealed boxes. Stereo bass! Q 0.7 Fb 35hz. Mount the drivers opposing each other to cancel vibrations, and power them with at least 250 watts. preferably 1000 watts. : )
You can always start with two.

The sub
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/show...464&vReviewShow=1&vReviewRand=8013660#reviews

Wire each pair in series and both pairs in parallel for a four ohm sub. 92 db per watt maybe.
bass is fun!

oooooh, I neglected that you live in the UK...

Thanks for all of your replies.

You know, I thought I would receive a straight forward solution, but I guess (as it's DIY), I probably had no right to think that way.

I think horns are a bit out of my depth and on the large side for my room. I still wanted to keep the Harlechs, I just desired a deeper bass.

Scottmoose, that sub looks quite a challenge, how much does it cost?

Cheers

Brownlow