Trying to model Imperial BLH with Hornresp - Is this right?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm fairly new to hornresp and this is my first attempt at modelling a back loaded horn. I'm not at all sure I am doing this right. I have an Imperial that I haven't used too much due to ragged response. I'm trying to determine a suitable driver compliment for use as a "subwoofer" (although it hardly goes low enough to call a sub). I'd love to be able to finally use it for something.

Here's how I broke the imperial into segments.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Next is the inputs. Some of these measurements may not be exact (I'm just guessing at 6 cubic feet for the back chamber and 5000 square cm for the baffle) but I can do more exact measurements later. This shows specs for 2 black widow 15's (a common driver to be used in such an enclosure) wired in series with 2.83V applied, corner loaded.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

And the resulting schematic.

And finally the combined response of the horn mouth and driver diaphragm. It's pretty bleak, which is why I wonder if I am doing this right. It can do 120+db max spl.

And just for fun, here it is with 2 dayton quatro 15's. These real sub drivers are everything I have read is exactly WRONG for this enclosure, yet they seem to model fairly well, if you can excuse the very small bandwidth of about 1 octave. If you CAN see past the bandwidth issue, hornresp says max spl across this bandwidth is 135+db. I'm not expecting extreme sound quality out of this, but I'd rather have a 1 octave bass blaster than a huge unused box.

Am I doing this right? Does any of this make any sense at all? If so, I can proceed to take exact measurements and model more drivers to find something with hopefully a bit more bandwidth.