15 inch Cabinet Design?? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th January 2008, 12:37 AM   #1
Chicho is offline Chicho  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default 15 inch Cabinet Design??

Hello fellow helpersÖ.Well I hope.

I have had this 15 inch for some time and I have some time to build a cabinet for this unit, Iím a cabinet maker by trade so I think I could do a good job on this unit.

Speaker specs,
D=320
Re=3.6
Fs=22.05
Qms-2.68
Qes=0.77
Qts=0.60
Vas=294.35
Bl=10.15

But I need the electronic brains in the design of the box.
I have punched the specs into UniBox and on a vented arrangement of 100L Iím getting an Fb of 16Hz and F3 31Hz..does this sound ok??

I really donít want to go much bigger then 100L.

Thanks in advance.
Old 17th January 2008, 01:19 AM   #2
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Greets!

Not really, but then it doesn't look any better in 100 L sealed since it wants around 500 L. Even aperiodic ideally needs to be = Vas, so for 100 L and go low the only way I know to do it is sealed with EQ such as a Linkwitz-Riley Transform (LRT). Unless it's a high excursion/power driver though, it won't play very loud down low without distorting due to the low effective efficiency.

GM
Old 17th January 2008, 01:32 AM   #3
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.

Looks like an IB driver, so maybe dipole(OB) or "ripole"(folded dipole) will work
Old 17th January 2008, 01:59 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hmmm...

So I will be wasting my time with this unit.

I have a Automotive 12 inch unit-

xmax=12
vas=62l
fs=28.5
qts=0.35
qms=3.95
qes0.391

would this one be better suited?

This is great...
Old 17th January 2008, 02:50 AM   #5
Eva is offline Eva  Spain
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Eva