Linkwitz Stuff

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey Guys,

Im new to much of this and im just trying to get my head around all of these new concepts.

As i understand it, Linkwitz crossovers are a great active filter to split a signal into high/mid/bass. The result of the crossover being flat with no peaks/dips or phase reversals.

Specifically for subs, a linkwitz transform can be used as a bass boost to increase the amplitude of low frequencies? So you might be able to extend flat response down another 10Hz or so before rolling off?

Is my current mode of thinking correct? I have noted that the transform and the crossover are different circuits and perform different tasks. Im just trying to picture how it might fit together. Is it something like:

For a sub, you would use a low pass on the input signal, linkwitz or otherwise, and then use the linkwitz transform to extend the gain at lower frequencies if desired. All of this occuring before the power amplification stage....

The advantage of this being, you would be able to reduce distortion by putting the speaker into a larger box but also maintain the same or better amplification at low frequencies by applying the transform?

Cheers all

Guy Incognito said:
Hey Guys,

The advantage of this being, you would be able to reduce distortion by putting the speaker into a larger box but also maintain the same or better amplification at low frequencies by applying the transform?

Cheers all

The irony of it is that you will probably want to put the driver in a smaller box, not a larger one.

1) LT ccts require a decrease in system Q to allow for a decrease in Fb, therefore it is desireable to start with a higher Q than what you want to end up with.