Frugal sub with old drivers - possible? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th November 2007, 11:25 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Frugal sub with old drivers - possible?

Hi,

I am pretty new to DIY. A few years ago I built a small 2-way pair from a kit (my own sealed box design) and am almost certainly going to build one of Peter Daniel's LM3875 kits for myself for Christmas.

But, I have these old speakers that I bought about 20 years ago. They were cheap at the time so I can't imagine that the components are any good, but I'd appreciate any advice.

The woofers in these old speakers are Foster 300L05 12".

Click the image to open in full size.

The problem is that I have no idea what the specs are for these. The sealed box they were originally in is 2.2cuft (I am metric, but I know most readers here are not). My understanding from the relatively small sealed box they were originally in, the obviously small magnet and the low power rating (20W at 8ohms if you can't make it out on the image) mean that they are not suitable for a "normal" ported sub.

I guess I have 2 main questions:

1. is it possible that I can make anything worthwhile from these? Note that I am looking at this more as an interesting project rather than a way to get a cheap sub.

2. what can I do about the fact that I don't know the specs? I have read about how to measure everything in Vance Dickason's book but I don't have the equipment. I think I can follow his instructions using a software signal generator on my PC and a couple of multi-meters? Will any results I get without the correct equipment be worthless? Can I just make some assumptions based on the original box size?

Thanks,

Brian
Old 14th November 2007, 05:50 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

looks like an OB candidate to me...