Thiel small testing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
mhtplsh said:
Is this the simplest & best?

Try it both ways and judge for yourself. I don't usually notice much difference with the drivers I have tested.

FYI, T/S theory is somewhat predicated on the driver being in a "similar acoustic environment", and free air measurements are nothing like being in a box. ....So the true test would be if the predicted response in a box is better having measured free air, laying on a surface, or mounted on a test baffle.

I have a lot of experience measuring driver parameters. I've unfortunately had to delegate hours and hours into getting a system setup to accurately measure parameters on all of our woofers. We finally have the system functioning the way it needs to for repeatability. We needed to measure the same driver on multiple passes and get the same results. A tolerance of 10% doing the same test was not an option. In reality, with running multiple passes, we need to be within no more than 1% tolerance. Nothing is changed, so the measurement shouldn't change. I've also walked several customers through things Here are some things that are very important.