What sub for large art studio? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th September 2007, 07:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default What sub for large art studio?

Hi everyone,

I'm an artist and really need some lower-end in my studio. I'm not sure what I should go with though... here's the specs of the space:

1500 sf (140 sq. meters)
"quanset hut" style steel building (large 1/2 circle curve)
it's insulated
50' (15 meters) long
17' (5 meters) high
CONCRETE FLOOR

I was thinking a long tube-style subwoofer would be best, but I'm open to suggestions. I could build it myself, pay someone else to do it, or just buy something off the shelf (or from someone).

All suggestions welcome!!!!!

Thanks,

James
Old 16th September 2007, 01:58 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to TwisterZ
I lived in a Quanset Hut in Fairbanks Alaska back before it was a state and I don't remember much in the way of insulation.

You might consider an acoustic wave cannon hanging in the middle of your ceiling. Check out this thread,

Acoustic wave canon

There are pics of my cannon on post #265
Old 16th September 2007, 05:40 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi Twisterz,

Thanks for the response. I'm new and wasn't sure if anyone WOULD reply. I love the idea of a wave cannon hanging between my lights near the ceiling.

I took a look at your photo on the other forum... very nicely done! I have to admit, I read more MATH in that thread than I ever thought I would as an artist, and some of it was way above my head. It made me think I should just by an amped square-box front-firing sub.

(Downward doesn't make a lot of sense if it's a concrete floor.)

I DO have one 'room' in my studio that's around 6' deep, 12' long and 9' high.. maybe a down-firing sub would work if it sat on top of the room.