10-25 Hz, is it necessary for HT or Music?

ChocoHolic said:
hm.... your question tells me that you did not even start to read & learn about LT....

The version which will bring you the lowest frustration impact and good results down to 20Hz is version 1.

Well, given that I have the TC-2000 in my possession already, I need constructive comments on what to do with them. If there's a particular posting or some driver specs that would make one better for LT, then I'd be happy to hear and learn. If there's a spec of the TC-2000 that makes it unsuitable then that's what I'm posting to a forum for in the first place.

But LT was going to be my last thought since I've got some experience with sealed and vented boxes.

I did not want to attack you. My comment was definitely meant constructive, because you are in the unfortunate situation that your mate is waiting for positive results from you. That's not a good situation to start learning the fundamentals and go through all pitfalls of something completely new.

I am in fact convinced that version 1 is a good solution as long as you do not need much lower than 20Hz. Only if you have a lot of signal content below that, then I would think about version 3. But most probable version 1 will serve your demands.
Also I do not see anything wrong with the driver (but I did not find the full spec on TC web page...).

The very large box, low tuning was what I was thinking.

My buddy is convinced that his current MK subwoofer is wonderful above 30-40 hz. He wants the new sub to be a sub sub covering the 15-35 range where his current sub is deficient.

I think he will change his mind about using his sub when he hears the TC sounds. But for now, I am going to assume that this is going to augment the lower end. That of course creates more problems because I need a relatively steep crossover to prevent from stepping on his current sub.