Subsonic filter for a SubWoofer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,
I'm new to this list so I'll introduce myself first...
My name is Guy, I'm a computer programmer in Melbourne Australia.

I've recently got into subwoofer building and am about to start my first project. It's a home theater active sub, using a 12" peerless driver with 2 passive radiators. It will use a 240W RMS amp.

I've been using WinISD software to model the various properties of the sub and can see that the cone excursion of the driver gets too large when the frequency goes below 20Hz.

So I guess that I need a 24db per octave high pass filter at about 20Hz. My question is whether anyone on this list can suggest what I should do. Is there a good filter on the market I can buy, or is it easy enough to make one?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Guy

Guy,

Making a subsonic filter is very easy, especially if you go the kit route. Both DSE and Jaycar Electronics would have kits of Rob Evan's Subwoofer Processor (which only has a 6dB/oct subsonic filter if memory serves me well). Try Elliott Sound Products for more projects.

Cheers :)
Isaac

I'm a computer programmer in Melbourne Australia.

I'd give anything to get work like yours. It's hard being a fresh graduate :bawling:

Thanks for the reply Isaac,

I sent an email to Elliott Sound Products (good web site btw) asking them if they had a high pass filter like the one I'm after.

Rod sent me a reply saying that he is going to design a 36dB/octave "phono rumble" high pass filter. This is exactly what I want, so I'll probably wait for this.

rumble

>>>>It's a home theater active sub, using a 12" peerless driver >>>>with 2 passive radiators. It will use a 240W RMS amp.

have u seen www.geocities.com/adrian_mack/index.html

?