Building push-pull subwoofers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm interested in doing this as well, with 4 high excursion 15's in 2 separate sealed enclosures. I've decided not to do isobaric loading, as I don't want to lose all the maximum output and efficiency. I've heard that a push-pull arrangement can reduce certain types of distortion etc, but I've never tried it before. And no, it doesn't have to be an isobaric enclosure to be push-pull (take M&K, EAW, and many others, for example).
Isn't there push-push as well?

Yeah, I was interested in push-pull isobaric loading when I was wanting to use these drivers previously mentioned in massive vented enclosures. But, I soon came to the conclusion that it just wasn't an option, mainly due to space constraints. On top of that, I've changed plans (again!) and a sealed alignment with LT or EQ would be better for use strictly under 40Hz or so, I think. So, now a push-pull sealed enclosure seems more logical.

Thinking about it.. one driver moves in, while the other moves out. Theoretically, odd order harmonics from the drivers and their motors should be cancelled out, or at least a large portion of it. Am I looking at this correctly? Sounds right to me, anyway.

My main question is.. are there ANY disadvantages to push-pull versus the conventional methods? If not, why don't we see it more often in commercial designs? I've seen many, but it seems that most designs using 2 or more subwoofers don't utilize it, which doesn't make sense to me. The only thing that comes to mind is that a tad bit more complicated enclosure design might come into play if hiding the back of the driver is desired...but I would think that would be very easy to do the majority of the time.