Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th April 2007, 12:49 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default DH 220 trouble

Hello all,

I am a rank amateur here. My DH 220 Hafler amp started making strange noises. It makes spontaneous popping and cracking noises on the right channel only. These happen whether or not the preamp is plugged in.

What causes this? Can an amateur repair it? Is it worth repairing? Who can repair it?

Thanks!

JMG
Old 5th April 2007, 02:10 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Do these noises seem to correlate with the temperature of the amp?

You could try reflowing all the solder joints on the back side of the PCB.

You could replace the 3 electrolytic capacitors on the PCB of the noisy channel.

You could alternate heat and cold applications to various parts of the PCB to see if they correlate with the noise. This might help to identify a possibly noisy component, like a transistor or resistor.

You could try tapping various parts of the PCB with a plastic tooth brush handle to determine if noise correlates with tapping of certain parts.

These are some amateur "brute force" tricks to trouble shoot. Be careful with the lid removed and when power is applied to the amp. The large filter caps can pack a lethal charge if touched. I usually keep one hand in my pocket when working around live voltage.
Old 5th April 2007, 04:05 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Dick,

Thanks for your reply. There is no correlation with temperature that I can tell. The noise starts within a few seconds after powering up the unit. It started for the first time just a few days ago.