Troubleshooting bass amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd April 2007, 10:07 AM   #1
mfacen is offline mfacen  Argentina
diyAudio Member

Default Troubleshooting bass amp

I own a hartke HA2000 bass guitar amplifier and I'm having some problems with it:
Some months ago the amp started loosing some punch in the bass and treble, the sound is as loud as it used to be but is lacking presence and definition in the low frequencies and clarity in general. The amp is not distorting at all, it still sounds ok but not as good as it used to.
I have some experience fixing amplifiers but I'm having a really hard time to find the problem with this one. Most of the amps I fixed where the usual burnt power transistors, or major failures where the amp will not work at all. I service the equipment for all the bands I play with, I live in southern mexican pacific coast, here there are not good technicians for this kind of work.
How can I troubleshot such a subtle problem in this amp ? I have an osciloscope and function generator, it is allright for most of cases but when I test the amp at diferent frequencies it seems to work allright but it just doesn't sound quite right when I play the bass trough it. I believe is a problem in the preamp, I connected the effect send output to my other bass amp and it didn't sound right either.
Any tips about how to pinpoint the problem with this amp ?
Old 2nd April 2007, 11:32 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Your on a good start if you ask me... Now that u think its the pramp why not check the speakers too. Once you rule these out then maybe u can look at other things.

I am also thinking cables can have a lot to do with the problem, especially if you are talking about it being another device and not the amp.