Please Help! Harman Kardon HK775, problems - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th March 2007, 06:42 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Please Help! Harman Kardon HK775, problems

Hello, im in need of some advice, please. I bought this hk775 off ebay, and of course it was described as "works and sounds great!" Well i hooked it up to my center channel speaker, and as i was listening, i started to smell something. I thought it was the amp at first, but then i saw my speaker start smoking! Needless to say my speakers are cooked, and sound like sh*t. The amp did put out sound, but it didnt seem loader than my TV puts out, but i didnt really have much time to listen. So now i want to attempt to fix it. My skills are pretty limited. Im a NOOB. I have changed caps before on a Yamaha M-80 that i got for free, and ended up getting that working. Lucky find, i know! And it sounds awesome! Anyway, i did find the service manual for the hk775 on-line, so im able to refer to that. So here is my question.... Does anyone have any thoughts as where to begin with the repair? Is it the caps? Like i mentioned above, it does power-up, and made sound. The only test i have done so far is put a volt meter on the speaker terminals, without an input pluged in. It had a 16 volt output?! That seemed really high to me. I mean you can start a car off that! So now i have the cover removed, and debating whether or not to just start replacing capacitors? Any help would be appreciated! Sorry so long............

Tony
Old 14th March 2007, 10:29 PM   #2
diyAudio Member