nad 3020 fried resistors

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, All! i need your help!!!
just picked up the 3020 but ,unfortunately power amp section is not working (preamp works fine) there is tiny sound , more like noise coming out of speakers but, no full power
inside i noticed two fried resistors they are numbered as 643 and 644

any ideas what could cause this problem?

thanks!!!:xeye:

thanks, Dan!
do you think i need to replace all the transistors you mentioned at the same time , or i can do it step by step trying to replace (Q607,608) first
im new at this and not equipped to check the parts if they work

it looks like the project for me but, i want to restore the classic
the preamplifier section of the 3020 sounds actually better than my separate nad1130

vadim

Since you need to get to the bottom of the board anyway, and for the low cost of the parts, I would replace all the transistors from Q607/608 back to the outputs. If any one is burnt, all your work will be for nothing.
Testing transistors is quite easy if your meter has a diode check. Do a google search for transistor testing. You will find plenty of info.

I also need help as I am having the same problem in one channel of a 7225 receiver which apparently uses a similar circuit. I tested or replaced all the transistors in both channels and used the newer outputs recommended elsewhere in place of the 2955 and 3055, and now the left channel keeps smoking that same 68 1/2w resistor at R643 when powered with a 60 watt bulb on the AC line. I can set the right channel properly to 0mv DC at the right speaker terminals, but the left reads about 29 volts with the blown open resistor.

I also replaced the 1000mf cap at C615 in the above schematic which was reading 150mf. I tested every resistor in both channels in circuit and they're all ok, but I did have to replace the 180R at C651.