Roksan Kandy mkIII Tweaks????

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all. :wave:

First post on the forum although i've been reading for a few months now.

What i'm looking to do is improve the sound of my Roksan Kandy mk3 amplifier, which i think is the weakest part of my system.
I do like the sound but feel its not revealing or detailed enough
If no-one here has tweaked one of these, any generic amp tweaks would be just as good.

I'm quite new to Diy electronics, although not too bad with a soldering iron.So far i've fitted better crossover components to my speakers and done a few mods to my cd player so hopefully i should be competent enough for this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
I don't know the Kandy that well, but to be honest, there isn't a lot you can do to an amp easily. Swapping PSU caps and possibly the input cap is the limit. You might be better off building something new from scratch. Have a look at the Symasym project, it's very accurate and detailed, and a pretty easy project to start.

If you do want to work on the Kandy, then you really need to track down a schematic.

Hi,
I agree with PM.
Changing the topology of the amp is not really an option so you'll just be swapping parts. The Kandy is quite an expensive piece of equipment so there may already be high quality components inside.

You should look at the volume pot and see what's already in there and replace if necessary.
Better quality or slightly bigger power supply caps may be an option but expensive. Take advice before even touching them.

Check out the thread on snubbers. That will keep you busy!!!

Diodes in the power supply could be looked at.
There is much debate over Schottky, fast recovery types at the moment. Generally accepted as good for preamps and C.D. players but not universally accepted as the best idea for power amps.