Newbie voltage regulator question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th February 2007, 04:19 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Newbie voltage regulator question

Ok Im pretty new to diy electronics. I have built a bunch of kits
Bottlehead Foreplay
Decware Zen84c
Chipamp.com 3886 gainclone
41hz Amp6 Tripath amp
Scott Nixon Dac kit
a few diy speakers

So I have expereince building kits and have had good results. And I have a basic knowledge of electronics, i know the differance between capacitors, resistors...etc and what they do and i can read a basic schematic. But I never really understood how or why these kits I built worked. But recently I have been getting much more interested in this aspect of the hobby. I have been reading alot and Im taking an electronics course at my college. I have started to build very basic circuits to get an idea of how they work. I just built a very basic Cmoy headhone amplifier to learn about opamps and power supplies. I tried a few differant battery power supplies first since they are safer and easier and now im ready to try some basic linear supplies. Im doing a regulated supply right now and it got me wondering. Is there any benefit to use more then one regulator. For example if you have a 15v transformer and you wanted to get a regulated 5v output. Is there any benefit to using a 12v reg followed by a 5v reg? Does this result in a cleaner 5v output then the 5v regulator alone would? Sorry if this is a dumb newbie question im just trying to learn. And id like to thank all the great and helpful people on this forum I have learn lots in the past few months!
Old 20th February 2007, 04:49 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Newbie voltage regulator question

Quote: