how to match devices -help-

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm searching on the forum how to match transistor-jfet-mosfet.

I would like to know...if it is possible do it on your own.
If so, is there any circuit test that i can build and that work fine for the purpose?

hope to receive ...as everytime...your good advice!

best regards,
Stefano.

taj

diyAudio Member
Joined 2005
Now I have a question about that Leach circuit. And I am a total newbie, so go easy on me.

I thought we were trying to measure/match current gain, but we're measuring the current through the base segment. Wouldn't it be better to provide a constant current to the base and measure the current gain on the collector/emitter segment? I'm sure there must be a simple reason for not doing that.

..Todd

Hi,
most amps using BJTs have a fixed collector current controlled by a fixed base emitter voltage (don't always believe those that say a BJT is a current to current amplifying device - but that's a different argument).

If you fix the collector current at your chosen value and test all your devices at this Ic, then you can measure the base current (indirectly by measuring the base resistor voltage).

Alternatively, fix the base current and measure the various collector currents. The disdavantage here is that different Ic result in different power dissipation and that in turn results in heating of the junction at different rates making it VERY difficult to repeat test at constant temperature. The gain will vary significantly as junction temperature changes.

You need a set up that let's you test quite quickly and at a fixed repeatable time interval, note your readings.
If you're a whiz kid with computers you could devise a computer controlled test procedure that takes your measurements at say 1 second intervals and watch what happens as the device heats up. Then select your matching parameters.

taj