Grounding with Multiple Power supplies question??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Folks, I am building a Small Preamp For my LM3886 guitar amp useing a couple 6418 Sub Mini Tubes, I am getting the +25v Plate voltage from an Unregulated supply that is also powering the LM3886 but for the 1.5v Filament Voltage I am useing a 3v DC adapter and a Voltage divider to divide the Voltage between 2 Tubes....

My question is do I just connect the 0V/Ground wire from the 3v Dc adapter to the 0v/Ground wire from the +/-25v supply and use a common ground for all circuits or do I have so Isolate the Dc adapters ground from the power supply grounds??

I think that I would just connect the DC adapters 0v/Ground to the Same ground as the +/-25v Power supply 0v/ground but I have never used 2 power sources in a Project before so i wanted to be sure....

Thanx

So are you saying that the DC adapter will use the Ground from the +/-25v Power supply to create the circuit?? So in essance Any 0v will work to create a Circuit, it doesn"t have to be the 0v from the adapter??

Thanx

PS: Would it hurt to connect the Adapters ground to the Power supply ground??

Minion said:
PS: Would it hurt to connect the Adapters ground to the Power supply ground??

I'd say you should connect the grounds of both supplies. I found from experience that hum is minimized that way. There is capacitive coupling betweent the heater and the cathode. If the heater supply is left floating it can allow intereference into the circuit.

My suggestion is to regulate to make the 3volt supply. I wouldn't rely on a wallwart to produce anything near the intended voltage. They don't.

I'd also suggest regulating your B+ voltage.

There are two big advantages for you.
1) you can use input voltages that are somewhat higher than the target voltages (3 & 25 for you) without any concern.