Error in power amplifier schematic - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd December 2006, 06:35 PM   #1
routhun is offline routhun  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Error in power amplifier schematic

Hello All,

Here is the schematic of the power amp section of Kyocera R-861 receiver. It has MOSFETs in the driver stage. I have very little knowledge in the audio amplifier design so please excuse any of my mistakes. I believe there is an error in the schematic. The value of R520L is marked as 180ohms, but I believe it should be 2.2K to have the symmetrical open loop gain for positive and negative swings of the signal. Am I correct? If so will this kind of asymmetry have any impact on frequency response and the distortion of the amp? Should I change that value to 2.2K. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Routhun
Attached Images
File Type: jpg r-861-amp1.jpg (90.4 KB, 648 views)
Old 22nd December 2006, 06:38 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default part2

part2 of the schematic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg r-861-amp2.jpg (88.3 KB, 556 views)
Old 22nd December 2006, 06:49 PM   #3
ilimzn is offline ilimzn  Croatia
diyAudio Member

No, Q508L is the wrongly marked one, it should be 180 ohms, instead of 2.2k.
Old 22nd December 2006, 07:04 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by ilimzn
No, Q508L is the wrongly marked one, it should be 180 ohms, instead of 2.2k.

Q508L is a transistor.

I think if you work out the collector currents, assuming Q505 and Q506 have the same currents, you probably will find that the Vb-to supply of the drivers is different and that the different resistor still gives the same current. But that's from just a quick look.

Jan Didden
Old 22nd December 2006, 07:15 PM   #5
diyAudio Member