HELP PLEASE! Choice of first power amp project.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Being a total beginner in unaided DIY I find that having read hundreds of pages on these forums that VERY little information/opinion is offered regarding the sound quality of published designs.
As I want to build a power amp which sounds as near as possible sweet as opposed to sterile, fast, accurate and which will drive Impulse H2 horns (about95Db) I will be very grateful if a music (mainly classical) will point me in the right direction.
I play mainly LPs on a highly modded Technics SP10Mk11, a Zeta arm carries an original Audionote Io cartridge , a very simple amplification system which has to do as my prototype Be Yamamura amplifiers have broken down. Be seems to have dissappeared again. (ANDREW T - I now live in Kelso!!!)
I can solder, build circuits but I know NO theory that you would notice. Any suggestions / help very much appreciated re. choice of circuit.
Regards to all,
Brianco

brianco said:
Being a total beginner in unaided DIY I find that having read hundreds of pages on these forums that VERY little information/opinion is offered regarding the sound quality of published designs.
As I want to build a power amp which sounds as near as possible sweet as opposed to sterile, fast, accurate and which will drive Impulse H2 horns (about95Db) I will be very grateful if a music (mainly classical) will point me in the right direction....Regards to all,
Brianco

Dude, you're in the wrong place. Head on over to the Tube area. ;)

Cheers,

Shawn.

diyAudio Member
Joined 2002
Welcome to the forums!