Transistor Help?????

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I posted this at another site as well. This is my first attempt with output transistors...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please indulge my rank amateur status with this... I really want to tackle this myself, if possible.

I have a CA 400 integrated amp that I have never seen work. It was obviously not the main fuse. Further inspection, I found a symptom of the problem, an internal fuse blows as soon as power switch is completed. It is one of two 2.0 A fuses that seem to run between the secondary of the transformer and the output transistors. There are four transistors in matched pairs, each pair connected to a 2.0 A fuse. It looks like R and L channels to me, with one set shorted out. Is that an expected outcome for a blown transistor? Am I correct that these 2.0 A fuses protect the main outputs? The input fuse is only 2.5 A.

I have the unit largely apart right now such that I can get to the transistors, even with my meathooks. Should I pull the transistors (the ones that I trace to the fuse in question) and test? Is this a logical fix?

Just wanted some advice before I really dig in. This is a really pretty unit. Beautiful.

Thanks in advance.

A671 4M 2 and C1061 4M 5 are the transistors. They have what looks like an Hitachi logo on them.

jocko

I searched ON Semiconductors for suitable replacements. It looks like these are "TO220-style bipolar transistors", 25 watt range. I pulled that from the audio output section. Is it that easy? That is what the OEMs look like. I need to determine whether PNP or NPN construction, how do I do that? Are these suitable for replacement? What am I missing?

I found a paper on how to test.

I am confused and running in circles. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

jocko

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Jocko,

Welcome to the forum.