newbie - Kenwood 3020SE mains noise? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th October 2006, 11:47 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question newbie - Kenwood 3020SE mains noise?

Hi I'm new to this game but here goes.
Have Kenwood 3020SE amp, sounds good but lot of noise, like mains hum, even with no source connected.
Have read various advice on earthing and am very confused.
Why only two core mains lead ie no earth?
(Original) two core mains lead cheap and nasty, so gonna change this, should I use shielded 3 core, connecting the internal yellow/green (earth) wire to the case for safety?
Read that the shield should be left disconnected at the amp end but connected to the earth pin of the mains plug.
Spent ages reading loads of threads and confused, like I say.
Old 26th October 2006, 01:41 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default noise

Are you getting the noise/hum all the time signal in or not?
If you have humm constantly being an OEM amp I would think you have a bad diode in the power supply,capacitor, or regulator.
Old 26th October 2006, 05:15 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks will check. Will also report on mains cable upgrade when done.
Old 26th October 2006, 05:23 PM   #4
diyAudio Moderator

I used to have one of those, they were nice amps.

I suspect it may not be an earthing problem, (unless someone has been fiddling around inside), rather the PSU caps aging and letting mains hum through. The amp is old enough, especially if it has been well used, to make a complete recap worthwhile.
Rick: Oh Cliff / Sometimes it must be difficult not to feel as if / You really are a cliff / when fascists keep trying to push you over it! / Are they the lemmings / Or are you, Cliff? / Or are you Cliff?
Old 18th April 2007, 06:35 AM   #5